Wage and Hour Violations
California and Federal law provide a myriad of protections to employees regarding wages and working conditions. Among other things, the law regulates the following:
Overtime – The basic rate for overtime is “time-and-a-half” the regular rate for any hours worked in excess of the statutory maximum, which is 40 hours in a week under federal and state law, but also over 8 hours per day per California law.
Reimbursement of Business Expenses – California employers are required to reimburse employees for expenses incurred in the discharge of their duties or at the request of the employer.
Employees whose employers have violated the wage laws may seek to recover those wages, as well as other damages and penalties.